Florida Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Law

Few people are aware of recent changes to Florida's personal injury protection (PIP) law. The changes, which went into effect on Jan. 1, 2013, place a number of new limits on the no-fault coverage that is available if you are injured in an accident.

At the law firm of Damore, Delgado & Romanik in Daytona Beach, Florida, our personal injury protection attorneys offer a free initial consultation to explain the PIP changes and answer your questions.

Here are some important things to know about the new PIP law:

  • You have only 14 days to seek initial treatment following an accident. If you wait longer, your insurance company won't reimburse any expenses.
  • Maximum benefits are reduced for injuries deemed "less severe." Depending on the seriousness of your injury, you may be eligible for only $2,500 in coverage rather than $10,000.
  • Certain providers aren't eligible for reimbursement. Massage therapists and acupuncturists are no longer eligible to treat patients under PIP.

PIP usually covers only a small percentage of your actual losses if you suffer a serious injury in a Florida car accident. If the accident was caused by the negligence of another person, however, you have the right to pursue full compensation by filing a personal injury claim against the insurance company of the at-fault driver.

To protect your rights and receive the maximum compensation you are due, it is more important than ever to consult an attorney. Our lawyers will assist you with your PIP claim at no charge as long as we represent you in your personal injury claim against the at-fault driver.

Free Consultation With A Daytona Beach PIP Attorney

In a free consultation, an attorney at our firm can explain how PIP works and what we can do to help you get the compensation you deserve. Call us at 386-492-8694 or contact us online today.